Macro Moments: Week 19

This week the challenge is to “Broaden Your Scope” and it doesn’t suit me. 😦

I had to bring out my Canon 350D and Sigma DG Macro, 105mm, 1:2.8

My first photo is of a couple of Tawny Frogmouths and was taken at ISO 200, f3.5, 1/200 with the lens set to full. It looks soft to me.

img_4197

Below is a crop of the image.

 

 

img_4197a

In the photo below one side of the image is in focus but not the other. Maybe it’s just the effect of a narrow depth of field with the plants on the left-hand side being slightly behind or in front of the others.

f4.5, 1/320, ISO 400, focal length 105 mm (full)

img_4200

Another photo shows similar effects, if I’d used a smaller aperture it would look less messy.

f5, 1/320, ISO 400, focal length 105mm (full)

img_4261Below is a shot taken at ISO 400, f9, 1/100 and full focus ie 105mm

The depth of field is better but I still want to crop it, to get in close, macros are my favourites. 🙂

img_4276

Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

2 thoughts on “Macro Moments: Week 19”

  1. Whoops, I commented before I saw that you’d already tried it. I like the birds! I think you might have focused on the leaves and if your focus was on the birds, they would have been sharper.

    1. I use Auto Focus because I don’t trust my own eyesight and I use the central focus point, setting the focus there ten moving from the target. In the bird photo I focused directly on the young bird which is on the left.

So, what do you think?

