Nostalgia

nostalgia

I used to love watching Dad shave. He’d dip the stick of green shaving soap into the water then rub it over his face and neck, after that he’d take the shaving brush, dip it in the water, give it a little flick then set to work lathering up the soap. He worked in circular motions over his cheeks, his upper lip, chin, and down around his neck. Of course, sometimes I’d get a dob of shaving cream on the tip of my nose.

He used a safety razor with metal handle which screwed off from the head. The razor blade was positioned on top of a little plate then a cover sat over it before the handle was screwed back on securing everything in place. I watched as he shaved paths through the foam then rinsed the razor in the sink before flicking the water off and continuing the shave.

What vivid memories his old shaving gear brings back, maybe there’s just a whisker of him still here.

Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

8 thoughts on “Nostalgia”

  1. And when you screwed the handle, it would open the metal plates so you drop the razor-blade in. My husband uses disposable razors these days, but he loves his shave stick and brush. It must have been a dangerous business back in the day of the cutthroat! An apt name,no doubt. Thanks for the lovely memory. 🙂

    1. It actually took me a few moments to remember the razor, the plastic disposables are just taken for granted now though I’m sure most people use electric razors.

So, what do you think?

