Wildlife Visitors in August 2016

I liked this challenge Wildlife Wednesdays and thought I’d participate but decided I preferred to keep the photos in the post for the month they were taken. I’ll be able to check back and see if the timing of the sightings is the same next year.

Not all wildlife at our place cooperates with me, we have aggressive Red Wattlebirds everywhere but let them see a camera and they’re off. Rainbow Lorikeets on the other hand and all too keen to show off their colours. There are lots of little birds that flit about like butterflies in the tops of the Gum Trees, no way can I get a shot of those.

I hope I’ll get better photos of some creatures but for this month these are the ones I have to go with.

If you click on an image it will take you to a slideshow where they’re larger and the captions are visible.

Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

6 thoughts on “Wildlife Visitors in August 2016”

    1. I was lucky to spot the Ringtail the dog was barking so I went out to quieten her and I looked up at just the right time. The Frogmouths are much easier to snap.

  1. Nice set of shots. I like your opening comment about wildlife not always cooperating with the photo-taking sessions! That’s our challenge, isn’t it? 🙂 Thanks for participating!!

    1. The “non-cooperation” is frustrating. I’ve been trying to get a better shot of the Eastern Spinebill but every time I’ve heard them then located them so has a Wattlebird and they chase them off. I’m enjoying the challenge of looking for something new, not sure how different next month’s will be. 🙂

So, what do you think?

