Brushtail Possum

Brushtail Possum
Brushtail Possum

Although some people have problems with possums I love seeing them. They can’t get into our roof space and so far they haven’t attacked anything in my vegetable patch. I’ve read that they love to eat roses but I’ve seen no sign of that yet either, the only fruit I’ve seen them eating were some wild plums and although there are plenty of Loquats for all of us when they’re ripe the Rainbow Lorikeets seem to get the lot. In the evenings I’ve heard rustling in the Eucalypt trees and that’s where the possums seem to spend most of their time.

 

I’m developing a new technique for taking photos in the dark, holding an LED torch/spotlight in my left hand and my camera in my right. Maybe tonight I’ll get a chance to try sitting the camera on the torch. This is definitely the best night-time photo of a possum I’ve managed to get.

Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

8 thoughts on “Brushtail Possum”

  1. What a wonderful photo – wildlife are seldom easy to capture, they don’t sit still long enough, especially at night!
    We were treated with a closeup experience with ‘our’ echidna last week. Usually we only see it in the far distance. It was interesting watching it stir up an ants nest and then eat the ants 🙂

  2. Lovely photo Sue. I can confirm that possums love roses (and lots of other things that grow in a garden) – I used to have a pet one when I was younger. Perhaps they have enough to eat and do not need to go into your garden?

    1. We do have 2 small dogs which could keep the possums up high but at night the dogs are inside. There are Gumtrees everywhere so there is plenty of natural food but I still expected them to come looking for tasty Strawberries. tomatoes etc. So far I’ve been lucky.

  3. Well done. Love photo. Possums are considered a pest here in New Zealand. They are now killed for their fur which is very warm. Cruel I know, but they kill all the native birds.
    All the best to you for 2016

    1. When I look at healthy foxes I’m stunned by their beauty but like the possums in NZ the foxes don’t belong here and do awful damage to native wildlife. I don’t know that anyone has found a way to make use of them here. I look forward to seeing more of your photos in the new year.

So, what do you think?

