Wasp Trap Visitors

We’ve had a resurgence in European Wasps around home so I bought some traps, it’s not only wasps that come to the trap flies have also decided it’s a lovely place to visit. I noticed one fly seemed to be always sitting near the top so went to investigate. I watched and when another fly came near the big one would chase it away. I decided it might not be a big bully chasing away any other fly coming to sample the wares it might actually be a protector of the genus keeping the others away from danger!

You can see the captions if you hover the cursor over an image. Is my imagination in overdrive?

 

 

There was another visitor that gave me a laugh, a tiny spider that ran from place to place trying to catch one of the flies caught inside the trap. (Obviously caught when the big fly was off duty.)

Le me have you, juicy fly.
Stop buzzing will you?
Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

6 thoughts on “Wasp Trap Visitors”

    1. The flies don’t have nice names! The one with the stripes is a Flesh Fly (Sarcophagidae which makes me think it eats bodies) the other isn’t much better, the Snail Parasite Blowfly. The tiny spider was trying to catch the flies trapped inside, they were a lot bigger than it was.

    1. I think it’s easiest to just stick with “interesting”. Your sketches are great, I’m happy you were inspired to draw them. I’ll be back to see what you come up with next.

So, what do you think?

