Weekly Photo Challenge: Endurance

enduring

I think this old Gum Tree shows all the signs of great endurance. Near the base you can see where one of the aboriginal Kuarna people have cut out wood to make a coolamon, a shallow dish for carrying anything from food to a little baby.  Kuarna people lived in this area before the arrival of Europeans in 1836. The tree must have been quite substantial even then. Sections of trunk and also branches have been broken off maybe during storms or times of drought. A tree without endurance simply wouldn’t have survived to this old age.

Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Endurance”

  1. Just yesterday I was out photographing the trees in my neighborhood, so I really enjoyed coming across this picture while I was checking out the new follower of my site. Well, I also will be following you as photography is something I just can’t get enough of. Thanks for the picture.

So, what do you think?

