Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand

grand

The Derby Boab Prison Tree, Western Australia.

This week’s photo wasn’t taken for the Challenge but I think it fits the criteria perfectly. It’s impossible to know the age of the grand old tree because it’s hollow so no growth rings to count but experts think it’s around 1,500 years old. It has a girth of 14.7 metres and there is an door like opening into the hollow centre,  the tree was used as a staging point for prisoners being walked from the surrounding area into Derby in the 1890s. The tree has cultural significance for the local aboriginal people.

Author: macmsue

I’m a sister, wife, mother, grandmother, auntie and friend. I prefer to be outside and am interested in photography, nature and different cultures. I believe everything on this earth has a right to be here but some things and some people would be happiest if their space was far away from mine. (Flies and biting bugs take note!) I don’t like housework and think dust is Nature’s way of saying, “This is my space, I was here first.”

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand”

So, what do you think?